Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Premio Lo Nuestro is just around the corner!

Premio Lo Nuestro - Thursday, February 17, 2011 on Univision at 8:00pm

It’s almost here! We are only hours away. On Thursday, the unveiling of the winners of Premio Lo Nuestro , an award show given to Latin Music. During the ceremony we will see Ricky Martin, Camila and Juanes who will all be performing and will get the party started!

Juan Luis Guerra, the Dominican Bachata King, is the artist with the most nominations for this year’s 23rd edition. He has a total of six nominations and among them are best male tropical artist and best merengue tropical artist. He is followed by Spanish singer Enrique Iglesias who has five nominations, Puerto Ricans Wisin y Yandel, Banda El Recodo from Mexico, and the Dominican-American Bachata singer Prince Royce.

Premio Lo Nuestro honors the most outstanding artists of the Spanish recording industry in 35 categories of the five most popular Latin genres: pop, tropical, regional Mexican, rock and urban. In addition, they give awards for best video, artist and collaboration of the year. Competing for Artist of the Year in Premio Lo Nuestro are Aventura, Banda el Recodo, Juanes, and Shakira.The gala is being hosted by actress and comedienne Angelica Vale and actor and television presenter Jaime Camil from the American Airlines Arena in downtown Miami and will be preceded by a parade of artists on the red carpet. The telecast of the event will begin at 7:00 pm (23:00 GMT) on Univision. In addition to Ricky Martin, Juanes, and Camila, the show’s organizers also announced that Mana and Cristian Castro will be performing. Four of the six nominations for Juan Luis Guerra, who in 2010 won three Latin Grammys and has a total of 12, are in the tropical genre. He is also listed as a finalist in the pop category sharing the nomination with Enrique Iglesias for their collaboration this past year.

Meanwhile, Enrique Iglesias is also nominated in the categories Album of the year, Male artist and song of the year in the pop genre, and shares another nomination with reggaeton singers Winsin & Yandel with their collaboration this year. Other artists nominated include La Original Banda El Limon, Alejandro Fernandez, the Mexican trio Camila, Juanes and Alejandro Sanz, who on Sunday won the Grammy for best Latin pop álbum for "Paradise Express". Winners of Premio Lo Nuestro 2011 were chosen by the public on the Internet, during a vote conducted between February and December 24, 2010.

Media Research and Translation by Candela ;-)


Post a Comment